According to the inscription of this caravanserai found at the seaside in the Çeşme district of İzmir province, it was made with the order of Suleyman the Magnificent in h.935 (1528). Meaning of the inscriptions says ”This building, which was protected by God, ordered Sultan Suleiman the son of Sultan Selim on 935 (1528) year. Babuchcuoglu Ali did this”. It is learned from this inscription that the caravanserai architect Ali Babuçcuoğlu Omar. However, no other work of this architect was found in Ottoman sources. Evliya Çelebi gives some information about this caravanserai: The fountain on the side of Kıblesi and the Çeşme Fortress. It covers one hundred and fifty houses with the gardens included. On the beach, there is a mosque, opposite an inn-i. These imarets are the vizier of Süleyman Han’s vizier and Ibrahim Pasha’s deceased. Based on Evliya Çelebi, it is understood that the caravanserai was built by İbrahim Pasha, the grand vizier of Kanuni Sultan Süleyman.
The exterior appearance of the caravanserai varies. Although the western facade is made of chipped stone and brick rows, the façades are built with rubble stone and brick pieces. There was an entrance in the middle and an entrance that protruded from the original building and shops on both sides. Caravanserai resembles the Öküz Mehmet Pasha Caravanserai in Kuşadası. The upper cover and stairs of the caravanserai were partially demolished and restored by the General Directorate of Foundations after 1971 based on their original remains. The inner courtyard of the caravanserai, which is made of cut stone, rubble and brick, is 18.60×18.40 m. It has a rectangular plan, has a section, a warehouse and a mosque. There is a dormitory building in the southeast corner of the courtyard and in the east-west direction.
In addition, three vaulted rooms were placed in the north-south direction. There is a second room with 28 rooms, which is taken from the entrance of the caravanserai. In this structure, which is one of the examples of classical Ottoman caravanserai architecture, both floors are in the same order. It is a rounded entrance door of the caravanserai which is built with two coloured stones and is enclosed in a rectangular cut stone frame. In the upper part of the entrance, some windows open to the outside. The front view results in a fringed hedgehog cornice, and the entire structure is covered with a wooden roof. There is also Çeşme Castle behind the caravanserai. Kervansaray is now used as a hotel.